?

Log in

No account? Create an account
Books read, early February - Barnstorming on an Invisible Segway [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
Marissa Lingen

[ website | My Website ]
[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

Books read, early February [Feb. 16th, 2015|12:17 pm]
Marissa Lingen
[Tags|]

Eleanor Arnason, Hidden Folk. Icelandic mythology-inspired short stories. There were a few of these that fell oddly into the 1970s-esque trap of “the Irish are a special maaaaagical people,” but the language was right on in all of them for being saga inspired. Generally good fun.


Helen Bynum, Spitting Blood: The History of Tuberculosis. So very good. Sanatoriums, interactions of TB with leprosy, general degenerative interesting stuff.


Octavia Cade, The Life in Papers of Sofie K. Kindle. A magical realist novella about a nineteenth-century Russian mathematician. If that doesn’t make you want to read it, I can’t help you; if it does, hey, did you know there was this book? There is this book! It is just the sort of thing you like if you like that sort of thing! (I do.)


Mike Carey, Lucifer Book Three. Giant graphic novel omnibus, and I think I am done with the Lucifer series on this one. The stories are not compelling enough to be worth the deliberately ugly art. I understand that it’s deliberately ugly for a reason, is making a statement, etc. But it is still a visual assault that I can opt out of, and will.


Faith D’Aluisio and Peter Menzel, Women in the Material World. A late twentieth century book of photographs and interviews with women in different countries worldwide, touching on their daily material lives in a very practical and specific way. I would have passed this by without a recommendation, because if it had been less concrete it would have been awful. As it was–fascinating.


Benedict Jacka, Chosen. These are short and zippy–this is the fourth in a series–and if you’re looking for Magical London Books, this is one. This one has had enough room to start ramifying interestingly. I don’t recommend starting here because of that, though–there’s no reason not to read the previous ones, and they’ll make the ramifications here work better.


Laurie R. King, Night Work. I may also be done with this series. There was a lot of exoticization of non-white characters, which was particularly bad as both the characters and the exoticization were central to the plot. I had sort of gotten along with the earlier volumes in this series on the theory that they were from an earlier time, but this is getting pretty contemporary and not acting like it. So–sigh. Onwards in the search for another long mystery series I like.


Nancy Milford, Savage Beauty: The Life of Edna St. Vincent Millay. This is a particularly interesting biography because so much of its process geeking is text rather than subtext: Milford will talk about interviewing Millay’s sister and then talk about what she thinks is not being said, what she has doubts about and why, what other sources she’s using. Quite good; I wish Milford had more work out there. (She wrote a bio of Zelda Fitzgerald, but I had enough of Zelda Fitzgerald in Flappers and don’t need an entire book of her, no matter how good the biographer.)


E. C. Myers, The Silence of Six. Myers is quite good at Average Teen Voice, whether or not the teen in question is entirely sympathetic. This is a teen hacker novel in the vein of Little Brother and Homeland. Lots of running around and skullduggery, good fun.


Julie E. Neraas, Apprenticed to Hope: A Sourcebook for Difficult Times. Lent to me by someone with whom I was talking about chronic illness stuff. I’m sure it’s very helpful to some people, but I found a lot of it frustratingly basic.


Greg Rucka, Stumptown Vol. 2. Portland PI graphic novel, with rock musicians. Reasonably fun if you want a one of those, not one of Rucka’s best.


V. E. Schwab, A Darker Shade of Magic. Discussed elsewhere.


Chris West, A History of Britain in Thirty-Six Postage Stamps. Every year I buy myself a book for my grandpa’s birthday. I pick something that I think we could have enjoyed together, because I’m not done sharing things with Grandpa even though he’s gone. This was this year’s purchase, and I’m confident that Grandpa would have found it interesting. A lot of the historical overview was stuff that someone who knows a reasonable amount about GB/the UK would already know, but some of the detail was more middlebrow/person-on-the-street than histories often focus on, and that made it feel more authentic to me: if you asked a bunch of Britons what happened in such-and-such a year, the World Cup is very likely to come up, for example. Also the postal-specific stuff was interesting and explained some institutions we don’t have here, like banking at the post office.




Originally published at Novel Gazing Redux

LinkReply

Comments:
[User Picture]From: pameladean
2015-02-16 06:20 pm (UTC)
I bounced off the very first Laurie King book I tried, for complex reasons.

A long mystery series that I recently discovered is Nevada Barr's Anna Pigeon novels. Anna Pigeon is an enforcement ranger for the National Park Service. There is more violence than I really care for in a mystery series, but it's different enough from standard violence that I can take it. The violence is conspicuously not male-gazey and women always, always have agency. There is also more harm to animals than I care for, but it's not just in aid of showing how bad the bad guys are; and it's not in every book and there isn't all that much of it, I just don't want any, ideally. And there is a comparative though not absolute absence of serial killers. The books all take place in national parks and monuments, they are sometimes very funny, though also sometimes dark; and Anna and her family and friends are fascinating.

P.
(Reply) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: mrissa
2015-02-16 06:22 pm (UTC)
I will have to think on this, because: harm to animals. And yet. Hmm.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
(Deleted comment)
[User Picture]From: mrissa
2015-02-17 02:11 pm (UTC)
I am particularly sad that it's from the early '70s because it means that the odds are this is all we get from Milford. I had not looked at dates. Sigh.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
(Deleted comment)
[User Picture]From: mrissa
2015-02-18 03:06 am (UTC)
I would totally read her book on Rose Kennedy. I think she is, if not the right person for it, at least a right person for it. So we will just have to hope together.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
(Deleted comment)
[User Picture]From: mrissa
2015-02-17 02:10 pm (UTC)
Hahahaha OH DEAR.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: shark_hat
2015-02-17 03:17 pm (UTC)
Have you read Hazel Holt's Mrs Malory series? They're all in print/on Kindle in the UK, it looks a bit more sporadic in the US. No animal harm in the ones I've read. The heroine has pets which have real animal personalities (and are not telepathic and/or the real sleuths of the books- the series is towards the cosy end of the mystery genre, but not full-on.)
I like Mrs Malory; she and her surroundings, a small town in the West of England, feel very real.
(Reply) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: mrissa
2015-02-17 10:04 pm (UTC)
Cool, I will look into that. Thanks!
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)